Would You Send Your Child To [fill in the blank]?

I have a student, an aspiring mechanical engineer, who was accepted to several top ranked programs, one of which was Virginia Tech. Of his choices, Virginia will probably offer him the best overall experience for his interests, disposition and academic motivation, yet he has his heart set on another institution, albeit prestigious, but not nearly as strong in his field of choice. In all my time working with him, the Virginia Tech shootings never came up with him or his parents, but the other day, I found myself telling a friend, “I would never send my kid to Virginia Tech”.

That of course is a very naive remark. Though Virginia has been made headlines for the tragic events on campus, if I’m honest, shootings really can happen anywhere. (Take Oikos Unversity, just recently – even a small, Christian university isn’t exempt). So the question for college bound students really is, to what extent do you consider factors, like school shootings or other safety issues, when your child is choosing a college?

2 Comments

Filed under Parent Resources

2 responses to “Would You Send Your Child To [fill in the blank]?

  1. runningfarce

    I was a junior at Virginia Tech when the shootings happened – I lost four friends, including my academic advisor. If I had to choose to do it all over again, with the benefit of hindsight, I would choose Virginia Tech quicker than I did when I was first making my college decision. I got my undergraduate degree there in Civil Engineering in 2008 and my masters degree there, again in Civil Engineering, in 2009.
    An unfortunate tragedy happened in 2007 and I still think about it all the time. But even on a campus of 30,000 people, I’m closer now to the friends I made their than the friends I made in high school. It’s an unbelievably close school and Blacksburg is wonderful. The engineering school there is perennially among the top engineering schools in the country. People choose or don’t choose schools for lots of different reasons, but if he is seriously considering going to Tech, you would be making a mistake by talking him out of it.
    Please let me know if you would like more information or would like to talk to me about my experiences there.

  2. runningfarce

    to the friends I made there* – sorry, I couldn’t let that slide

Leave a Reply

